“Is This the Life We Really Want?” released Friday, June 2nd.

Friday, June 2nd.

“Is This the Life We Really Want?” releases today
First album of new material for Roger Waters in 25 years coincides with North American tour

Today Sony/Columbia releases Roger Waters’ “Is This the Life We Really Want?”

The 12-track album is the first album of new material from the co-founder of Pink Floyd since 1992’s “Amused to Death.”

Sony/Columbia describes the album as “an unflinching commentary on the modern world and uncertain times” and “a natural successor to classic Pink Floyd albums such as ‘Animals’ and ‘The Wall.'”

It’s produced and mixed by Nigel Godrich (Radiohead, Paul McCartney, Beck, U2).

Tracklist for the album is as follows:

  1.     When We Were Young
  2.     Déjà Vu
  3.     The Last Refugee
  4.     Picture That
  5.     Broken Bones
  6.     Is This the Life We Really Want?
  7.     Bird in a Gale
  8.     The Most Beautiful Girl
  9.     Smell the Roses
  10.     Wait for Her
  11.     Oceans Apart
  12.     Part of Me Died

“Smell the Roses” and “Deja Vu” were released as advance singles on April 21 and May 8, respectively.

Musicians on “Is This the Life We Really Want?” include: Waters (vocals, acoustic, bass), Godrich (arrangement, sound collages, keyboards, guitar), Gus Seyffert (bass, guitar, keyboards), Jonathan Wilson (guitar, keyboards), Joey Waronker (drums), Roger Manning (keyboards), Lee Pardini (keyboards), and Lucius (vocals) with Jessica Wolfe and Holly Proctor.

Waters on the road
Waters launched his North American “Us + Them” tour in Kansas City, MO, on Friday, May 26. The tour runs through Oct. 28, finishing in Vancouver, BC.

Complete tour schedule is available on Waters’ website (http://www.roger-waters.com/tour.php).